Social Media Technology

How to disable safe mode on Tumblr

How to disable safe mode on Tumblr
Written by admin

Its function is to filter the sensitive content that may appear on your Desktop or your search results.

Tumblr is a social network recognized for incorporating a microblogging system, which is about sharing through words or short phrases from other bloggers that we like, are interested in, and even reblog (publish on our blogs) the articles and more unique and outstanding notes.

In this way, Tumblr offers its users the possibility of creating and publishing their content in publications that include videos, audio, texts, links to other websites, and so on, meaning that it is practically possible to share any digital content.

One aspect that we must consider when using Tumblr is that the privacy settings they offer are limited. Although, on the one hand, it keeps safe the question that users are more or less identifiable according to their preferences, when it comes to privacy settings, there is a big difference.

On Tumblr, all posts are public by default, and besides that, there is no method or functionality to make accounts private.

However, this freedom in publications has led to increased insensitive content, that is, not suitable for sensitive people or minors. Therefore, the creators of Tumblr decided to restrict certain pages with a Safe Mode warning.

What is Tumblr Safe Mode?

This mode is activated for any Tumblr user, regardless of age. Its function is to filter the sensitive content that may appear on your Desktop or your search results. Therefore, it is necessary to turn it off manually.

To disable this feature, you must first log in to your Tumblr account and immediately click on the account tab. Then go to Settings. Next, in the Filtering section, press the switch next to Safe Mode to turn it off. From this moment on, it is possible to search for and access blogs or posts that were previously marked as “sensitive content” or “not safe for work.”

If you use the Tumblr application from your phone, it is also possible to disable Safe Mode. In the case of having an iPhone or an iPad, it will be done from the iOS Settings and not from the Tumblr application. The first step is to open the Settings on the main screen, scroll down and tap Tumblr. Followed by this, in Tumblr Settings, tap on Safe Mode. Finally, click Hide nothing to disable Safe Mode.

On the other hand, in the case of having an Android device, unlike iOS devices, it is possible to deactivate Safe Mode from the Tumblr application:

  1. You need to open the Tumblr app, tap the Account icon, and tap the Gear-shaped Settings icon.
  2. Tap General Settings, and then tap Filtering.
  3. Press the switch next to Safe Mode to turn it off.

 safe mode on Tumblr

These steps will allow you to view “sensitive content” without any problem from your mobile phone.

Note: If you are under the age of 18, you will not be able to disable Safe Mode until you reach the age of majority.

About the author

admin

Leave a Comment